top of page

2023 Dion Yukon Snowshoe Race Results / Series Champions

Congratulations to everyone who took part in the Dion Yukon Snowshoe Race held last night in Whitehorse, Yukon. This was the final race in the 2023 Dion Canadian Snowshoe Series.

It was a great night for snowshoe running, with mild temperatures and fast conditions. The course featured roughly 200 meters of elevation gain and loss, including some challenging hills, over the 5 km race route.

Kieran Halliday was the first runner to finish, capturing the mens race in a time of 27:23. Graeme McConnell finished second in a time of 28:22, followed by Scott Williams in third in 29:35. Yanik Freeman finished as top master (over 40yrs) in a time of 33:40. Taiga Buurman was the top youth finisher in a time of 29:37.

Joanna Sharp was the top finisher in the women’s race in a time of 39:35. Emily McLeod finished second in a time of 39:37, followed by Shailyn Drakes in third in 40:19. Cindy Freeman was the top female master in a time of 40:24.

A big congratulations to Ben Yu Schott and his wonderful team of volunteers for putting on an awesome race!

A special thanks goes to series sponsors Dion Snowshoes, Spafford Health and Adventure, XACT Nutrition, in addition to all of the local sponsors, and with support from Snowshoe Canada. Without their support, this series would not be possible.


With the Dion Yukon Snowshoe Race capping off the 2023 Dion Canadian Snowshoe Series, series champions can now be crowned.

Bernie Hogan of Bancroft, Ontario won the men’s series with a perfect total of 60 points in the six of possible eight races he ran. Katy Murphy of Toronto, Ontario captured the women’s title with a total of 42 points, also in six races.

Bernie and Katy have each won a prize package totalling over $500 worth of product, including a pair of Dion Racing Snowshoes, donated by Dion Snowshoes, Spafford Health and Adventure and Snowshoe Canada.


The Frosty Foot Award is presented to the athlete who completes the most races in the Dion Canadian Snowshoe Series.

Charley Murphy completed six of the eight races in the series, and will receive a $100 prize package donated by Spafford Health and Adventure. (Note: Overall series champions ineligible for the Frosty Foot Award).

Thank you again to everyone involved in the series this season including participants, race directors, volunteers and sponsors.

Plans are already underway for next season and making the series bigger and better!

We hope that you enjoyed the 2023 Dion Canadian Snowshoe Series and invite you to join us again in 2024. We encourage you to bring a friend as we welcome more people to the sport of snowshoeing/snowshoe running, while enjoying the beautiful Canadian winter!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page