top of page

2022 Dion Ignite the Night Snowshoe Race - Results

Congratulations to everyone who took part in the Dion Ignite the Night Snowshoe Race held on January 8, 2022 at Upper Canada Village in Morrisburg.

It was a cool night, but conditions were fast through the magical, festive lights of this beautiful night time race.

The 10km race is the marquee race of the night with points being awarded towards the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series.

Bernie Hogan of Bancroft was first overall in the mens 10 km race in a time of 41:34. Second place went to Charley Murphy of Toronto in 43:53, followed by Rob Lefebvre of Williamstown in third in 44:56. Bruno Lafontaine of Gatineau, Quebec was the first mens master finisher (over 40yrs) in a time of 45:42.

First place in the women’s 10 km race went to Katy Murphy of Toronto in 58:35. Second place went to Michelle Brokop of Ottawa in 61:45, with Judy Andrew Piel of Nepean finishing in third in 62:28. Susan Ibach of Manotick was the top female master in a time of 68:25.

In the 5 km race, Evan Raz of Woodland was the first place male in a time of 27:33. Pete Querillon of Chelsea, St. Thomas was second in 28:50, with Cliff Trafford of Barrhaven finishing in third in 28:52. Stephen McGrath of Monkland was the top male master in 31:38

Lise Meloche of Chelsea, Quebec won the women’s 5 km race in 28:49. Jill Sparling of Ottawa finished second in a time of 30:03, with Joan McCuaig of Newington finishing in third in a time of 33:51. Maryanne Gillespie of Ottawa was the top female master in 33:57.

The Dion Ignite the Night Snowshoe Race is a fundraiser for Beyond 21 Foundation.

Thank you to all the race sponsors for making this such a wonderful event.

A special shout out to race director Gilles Parisien and his team of volunteers for organizing a great race during these challenging times, while insuring the safety of all those taking part.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts