top of page

2020 DION Ignite the Night Snowshoe Race - Results

The Dion Ignite the Night Snowshoe Race took place on Saturday, January 11, 2020. This was the first race in the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series.

Unfortunately, Mother Nature didn’t exactly cooperate with a major rainstorm in the final 2 days before the race to melt the snow away, so the race was held as a trail run instead. Fortunately the freezing rain that was forecasted didn’t materialize and road conditions were good for all who had to travel.

The poor weather didn’t damper the enthusiasm of all participants though as they raced through the festive lights of Upper Canada Village.

Bernie Hogan of Bancroft was the overall winner in the 10km winning the mens race in a time of 38:38. Second place went to Guy Dorion of Ottawa in 40:52, followed by Sebastian Warner of Cornwall in 43:36.

Lisa Leskien of Cambridge won the women’s race in a time of 45:20. Chrissy Stevens of Cornwall was second in 62:14, followed by Genevieve Ouellette of Rigaud in 62:57.

The 10km racers earned points for the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series.

In the 5km race, Crwys Harris of Orleans won the mens race in the time of 21:28. Anthony Chee Chue of Bancroft was second in 24:50, followed by Dave Ward of Ottawa in 27:58.

Marie-Eve LaRocque of Crysler won the women’s race in 26:30. Jessica Aldaba of Ottawa was second in 27:51, followed by Sonia Waharte of Kanata in third in 28:08.

A huge thank you to race director Gilles Parisien and his spectacular team of volunteers for putting on such a great race in very difficult conditions. A special thank you to all race sponsors as well.

The next race in the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series will be the Dion Brighton Snowshoe Race at the Goodrich-Loomis Conservation Area near Brighton.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts