top of page

2020 DION Brighton Snowshoe Race - Results

The Dion Brighton Snowshoe Race took place on Saturday, January 25, 2020 at the Goodrich-Loomis Conservation Area. This was the second race in the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series.

A mix of rain, freezing rain and snow made travel to the race a challenge again for the second race in a row, but those who made the drive were treated to a beautiful route, even though the snow was a bit soft from the earlier rain.

Josh Loveless was the first athlete to finish in a time of 38:55 over the 6.7km course. Bernard Abarquez finished second in the mens race in 38:58, followed by Mike Mackett in third in 39:21.

Melissa McKiel won the women’s race in a time of 43:23. Lisa Leskien finished second in 44:14, followed by Lisa Bootsma in third in 48:30.

Points were awarded for each participant in the race towards the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series.

A huge thank you to race director Erin McDougall and his team of volunteers for putting together such an awesome snowshoe race in challenging weather conditions. A special thank you to all race sponsors as well.

The next race in the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series will be the Dion Winter Goose Chase Snowshoe Race. Please note that this race is sold out, so online registration is closed and there will be no race day registration. Registration is still available for the Dion Summerstown Forest Snowshoe Race and the Dion Howlin’ Husky Snowshoe Race.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts