top of page

2024 Dion Ignite the Night Snowshoe Race - Results

The Dion Ignite the Night Snowshoe Race was held last night and officially kicked off the 2024 Dion Canadian Snowshoe Series. Racers ran this nighttime race under the spectacular lights of Upper Canada Village’s All right at night festival.

The 10 km race awarded points for runners in the Dion Canadian Snowshoe Series.

The first runner to cross the finish in the men’s race was Charley Murphy of Toronto in a time of 38:07. Geoffrey Richards of Cobourg finished second in 44:53, followed by Christian Belair of Cornwall in third in 45:03. Guy Doiron of Ottawa was top male master (over 40yrs) in a time of 47:16.

Rachel Thiessen of Ottawa won the women’s race in a time of 53:06. Elizabeth Nurse of Cornwall was second in 56:57, followed by Jill Trower of Ottawa in 59:07. Tanya Urbancic-Venemore of Pickering was the top female master in a time of 63:09.

A 5km non-series race was also held with Graeme McConnell crossing the finish line first in a time of 23:45. Pete Quevillon of London finished second in 25:28, followed by Derek Gillard of Finch in 27:20. Mike Abraham of Ottawa was the top male master in 28:52.

Lise Meloche of Chelsea, QC won the women’s 5km in a time of 27:20. Amanda McCosham of Lunenburg finished second in 29:06, followed by Michelle Brokop in third in 30:46. Heather Lewis of Ottawa was the top female master in a time of 32:16.

A huge congrats to race director Gilles Parisien and his fantastic team of volunteers for all their hard work in making this such a wonderful event!

A special thanks goes to series sponsors Dion Snowshoes, Spafford Health and Adventure, XACT Nutrition, in addition to all of the local sponsors, and with support from Snowshoe Canada.

This race was a fundraiser for Beyond 21. Thank you, and congratulations, to all who took part and supported this event with their entries!

The next race in the Dion Canadian Snowshoe series is the Dion Mighty Chickadee Snowshoe Race to be held on January 20th in Nobleton, ON. Registration is still available!

(Updated: Jan 16, 2024)

For questions regarding timing/results, please contact Timer Al at

and copy race director Gilles Parisien at


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page